Gov. Perry Announces Support for Choose Life License Plate Legislation
AUSTIN – Gov. Rick Perry today announced his support of House Bill 109, which would create a Choose Life specialty license plate to raise funds to assist pregnant women who are considering adoption as an alternative to abortion for their unborn children.
“I am here today to endorse an effort that will allow Texans to support the humane choice of adoption,” Gov. Perry said. “The majority of Texans believe in the sanctity of life, and this license plate will give them a means to tell the world in a subtle but meaningful way, while providing support to pregnant women making the decision to choose adoption.”
The governor was joined today by Rep. Larry Phillips who will sponsor the bill in the Texas House of Representatives and Joe Pojman, executive director of Texas Alliance for Life.
“The Choose Life license plate will help to create a win-win situation for all those involved—the birth mother, the adoptive parents, the baby, and the pro-life organizations that assist them,” said Pojman. “It’s time Texas joined the 19 other states that already have a Choose Life license plate to promote adoption.”
Initially introduced in Florida, the Choose Life plate is currently available in 19 states. To date, more than $9 million has been distributed through the Choose Life license plate program to nonprofit charitable organizations around the nation that assist women who are considering adoption.
HB 109 would create the optional Choose Life license plate costing $30, of which $8 would go to the Texas Department of Transportation for the production of the plate. The Office of the Attorney General will distribute $22 from the sale of each plate as grants to nonprofit charitable organizations that provide counseling and cover material and healthcare costs for pregnant women considering adoption.
Gov. Perry remains committed to family values and the defense of unborn children. In 2005, the governor signed Senate Bill 419, which requires physicians to obtain written permission from the parent or legal guardian of a minor child before performing an abortion on that child. The statute gives the Texas Medical Board the authority to enforce this requirement by imposing license violations on physicians who violate it. This law is the most stringent protection of parental rights passed in the state to date.
Governor's Initiatives »